Sunday, May 07, 2017

Keyshawn Davis Wins National Golden Gloves Championship!

Congratulations to Alexandria, VA's Keyshawn Davis who won the National Golden Gloves championship at 132 pounds Saturday at the Cajundome in Lafayette, LA.

Davis defeated Adrien Benton of California by a 4-1 decision to win the DC Region's first national Golden Gloves championship since Gary Antuanne Russell won a national title in 2014.

So for the first time since 2014, we can update this list of National Golden Gloves champions

1973 and 1974: Sugar Ray Leonard

1976: Louis "Heidi" Curtis

1978: William "Flip" Johnson

1979: Kenny "The Technician" Baysmore

1982: Warren "Chico" Thompson

1985: Eugene "Sonny" Speed

1986: Anthony Wilson

1988: Mark "Too Sharp" Johnson

1991: Melvin "Top Gun" Foster

1992: James Harris

1995: DeMarcus "Chop Chop" Corley

1995 and 1997: "Dangerous" Dana Rucker

1998: Lamont "Bay" Pearson

2001: Lamont Peterson

2003: Anthony Peterson

2005: "Mr." Gary Russell, Jr.

2010: Gary Allen Russell, David "Day-Day" Grayton

2011: Mike "Yes, Indeed" Reed

2012: Gervonta "Rambo" Davis, D'Mitrius "Big Meech" Ballard, "The King's Son" Jerry Odom

2013: Gary Antonio Russell, Lamont Roach, Jr.

2014: Gary Antuanne Russell

2017: Keyshawn Davis

To break this down a little bit, this list includes:

Two International Boxing Hall of Famers -- Sugar Ray Leonard and Mark "Too Sharp" Johnson

Six who have held professional world championships -- Leonard, Johnson, DeMarcus "Chop Chop" Corley, Lamont Peterson, Gary Russell, Jr. and Gervonta Davis

Four United States Olympians -- Leonard, Louis "Heidi" Curtis,  Russell, Jr and Gary Antuanne Russell

Three brother combinations -- Johnson and James Harris, Lamont and Anthony Peterson and the Russell Family

Two boxers named Outstanding Boxer ("Golden Boy") of the National Tournament -- Jerry Odom (2012) and Gary Antonio Russell (2013)

No comments: