Saturday, October 15, 2016

Olympic Gold Medalist Maynard Leads 2016 DC Boxing Hall Of Fame Class!

An Olympic Gold medalist will lead the 2016 class of the Washington, DC Boxing Hall of Fame.

"Boxing" Andrew Maynard, who took gold at the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul, South Korea, will highlight this year's class.  The light heavyweight, who fought out of Laurel, MD (26-13-1, 21 KO's) had a solid pro career winning the NABF Light Heavyweight title in 1990.  Maynard also challenged for the Cruiserweight title, dropping a 12-round unanimous decision to WBC champion Anaclet Wamba in October of 1992 in Paris, France.

Also inducted in the pro category will be Capitol Heights, MD super featherweight James Baker and Laurel middleweight Percy "No Mercy" Harris.  

Baker (13-7-3, four KO's) fought from 1997-2005 and was a fan favorite as he took on noted opponents like Monty Meza Clay, Nate Campbell and Daniel Attah.   

Harris (15-4, nine KO's) only fought for three years as a pro (1989-1992) but fought quality opponents throughout his career.  Harris won the IBF Inter-Continental Middleweight title with a decision over previously undefeated Thomas Tate in December of 1991 in Lombardia, Italy. Harris also fought future International Boxing Hall of Famers Bernard Hopkins and Roy Jones, Jr during his career.

Inducted into the amateur category are Sean Johnson and Alfonzo Hatcher.  Johnson was a well-known boxer at 106 pounds in the nineties, participating in the 1996 Olympic Trials.  Hatcher is now known as a prominent trainer in the Beltway.

The Contributors section is star-studded with a prominent trainer, two well-known media figures and two members of the DC Boxing and Wrestling Commission who will be inducted posthumously.

Legendary trainer Barry Hunter heads to the hall.  Hunter, who leads the Headbangers camp out of the Bald Eagle Boxing Gym in Southeast DC, has trained numerous amateur and professional champions, most notably former IBF Super Lightweight champion Lamont Peterson.  Hunter was named the WBO Trainer of the Year in 2007.

Washington Times sports columnist Thom Loverro will enter the hall.  Loverro has been a sportswriter at the Times since 1992 and covered boxing throughout, both on the pro and college scene.  Loverro is a member of the Boxing Writers Association of America and has won numerous awards from that organization.  Loverro also is the host of his own podcast "Cigars and Curveballs" which can be downloaded for free on Itunes.

Recently-retired Beltway sportscasting legend Glenn Harris has also been chosen.  Harris worked in the DC area for more than 40 years and has interviewed a who's who of local, national and international boxing and sports figures.  Harris has also been a fixture as an announcer at the local and regional Golden Gloves tournaments for many years.

(photo by Linda Chubbs)

The late DC Boxing and Wrestling Commission chair Dr. Arnold W. McKnight (top) and the late Deputy Commissioner Alfred Grant have also been chosen.  Dr. McKnight joined the commission in 1991 and was the longest-tenured chair of the commission, serving from 1993 until his passing in July of 2007. Mr. Grant was also with the commission in the 1990's until his passing in February of 2015.

Undefeated super featherweight prospect Lamont Roach, Jr. of Upper Marlboro, MD will receive the James Balukevich Outstanding Boxer Award for 2016.  Roach (12-0, four KO's) last fought on September 2 and scored a third-round knockout of Mario Antonio Macias in Los Angeles, CA.

The inductees will be honored at a banquet on Friday, November 11 at Martin's Crosswinds in Greenbelt, MD.


Michael Katac said...

Are tickets available for this event? Are the boxers going to be in attendance?

Gary Digital Williams said...

The boxers should be there. Tickets are 50 dollars but I think they are only available at the door.

Gary Digital Williams said...

My apologies. Tickets are 60 dollars and reservations are due by November 1. Here is the full information.

The Washington D.C. Boxing Hall of Fame is proud to announce the induction of 11 new members into the Hall of Fame at our upcoming 32nd Annual Awards and Induction Banquet on Friday, November 11, 2016 at 8:00 P.M.

This year’s gala event will once again take place at Martin’s Crosswinds, 7400 Greenway Center Drive, Greenbelt, MD. A social hour with snacks, chips and dip and full service cash bar will begin at 7:00 P.M. Sit down dinner service will begin at 8 P.M.

The following individuals have been selected for induction based on their history of involvement in and support of amateur and professional boxing in the Washington D.C. Metropolitan Area.

Professional Boxers Amateur Boxers Outstanding Contributors
Andrew Maynard Sean Johnson Thom Loverro
James Baker Alfonzo Hatcher Barry Hunter
Percy Harris Glenn Harris
Alfred Grant (posthumous)
Dr. Arnold McKnight (posthumous)
James Balukevich Outstanding Boxer Award for 2016
Lamont Roach, Jr.

Please inform your family and friends of this annual event and encourage their attendance at this year’s ceremony. The cost of the banquet is $60.00 per person and tables seat 10. Reservations only must be received by 11/1/16 to ensure confirmation. Please provide the full name of each attendee when reserving seating. Payment in full is required for reservation to be confirmed. Please call Ken Sprouse, Banquet Director, at 301-574-3739 for reservations. Make check payable to “WBHOF” and mail to WBHOF c/o Bobby Magruder, Treasurer, P.O. Box 2532, Waldorf, MD 20604.