Sunday, April 03, 2016

Results From Washington Golden Gloves Championship Finals!

(Photos by Kent Green --

There was a lot of quality amateur boxing action at the finals of the Washington Golden Gloves Championships in front of a packed house at Rosecroft Raceway in Fort Washington, MD.

A good portion of the marquee matchups took place in the Open Division.  In the 165-Pound weight class title bout, Tavon Body (Headbangers) won the title defeating Jordon Payne (Woodland Tigers).  Body will try to win his third consecutive regional championship later this month.

Body's teammate, Tyrek Irby, won his title at 141 pounds by defeating Joshua Lee (UMAR) by RSC (Referee Stops Contest) in the first round when Lee hurt his arm during the contest.  Along with Rasheed Wright who was an unopposed championship at 108 pounds, the Headbangers gym won the team trophy for the second straight year.

Also in the Open Division, Maiwak Da'goot (Hillcrest) won the 152-Pound championship with a victory over Mansabory Conde (Odenton Fitness).  Malik Jackson (Limelite) took the 114-Pound title defeating Paul Jerry (Fighting For The Future).

At 123 Pounds, Hector Soto (Down Under) won the championship defeating Christopher Glen (Hagerstown). Tommy Avelar (Sugar Ray Leonard) took the 132-Pound title with a win over Ebrima Jawara (Laurel).  Genc Pllana (Bowerhouse) captured the 178-pound title with a win over Mark Duncan (Headbangers).

The 201-Pound class saw Jonathan Surratt (Tony's Gym) win the championship over Shaka Williams (NOMIS). Also,  Cortez Duncan (UMAR) won the 201+ pound championship over Nathaniel Copeland, Jr. (D-Block).

In the Novice Division, Leonard Poe (Hillcrest) stopped Francis Poulos, II (Sugar Ray Leonard) in the first round to win the 178-Pound title.  Poe's teammate, Blaze Fidler, defeated Ahmad Jones (UMAR) to capture the 132-Pound championship.  Another Hillcrest boxer -- Davonte Lee -- was unopposed as 108-pound champion.  The three wins earned Hillcrest the Novice Team Championship.

In other bouts, Marcus Johnson (Limelite) won the 123-Pound championship with a win over Joshua Woodard (Headbangers).  At 141 Pounds, Leroy Payne (Headbangers) defeated Tariq Harris (1st Class).

The 152-Pound championship saw Mike Crain of Delaware (Dog Pound) win the title with a victory over Kalonni Daly (Sugar Ray Leonard).  Ashton Sykes (Switch Hitters) won the 165-pound title by medical disqualification when Antonio Haywood (Hillcrest) hurt his shoulder throwing a punch during the bout.

Thomas Mottinger (Main Street) captured the 201-Pound title with a win over Jordan Scott (Woodland) and Jimmy Speros (Olympia) defeated Aaron Blackwell (D-Block) to win the 201+ Pound title.

Congratulations to Owen Pannucci (Bowerhouse), Tyquawn Johnson (#11 Overcomers), Donte Baytop (UMAR) and DeAngelo McDonald (D-Block) who earned Sportsmanship awards.  Also, congratulations to the No Xcuse for winning the Junior Division team championship for the second consecutive year.

The Virginia-North Carolina Golden Gloves will be held April 15-17 at Wilson Middle School in Wilmington, NC.  The regional championship will be held on Saturday, April 30 at Rosecroft Raceway.

No comments: