Sunday, May 18, 2014

BATB Updates Beltway National Golden Gloves Championship List!

For the fifth consecutive year, BATB is able to update the list of National Golden Gloves champions from the Beltway region.  This continues to be a very impressive list.  As we said before, this area has produced nine national champions in the past five years.

1973 and 1974: Sugar Ray Leonard

1976: Louis "Heidi" Curtis

1978: William "Flip" Johnson

1979: Kenny "The Technician" Baysmore

1982: Warren "Chico" Thompson

1985: Eugene "Sonny" Speed

1986: Anthony Wilson

1988: Mark "Too Sharp" Johnson

1991: Melvin "Top Gun" Foster

1992: James Harris

1995: DeMarcus "Chop Chop" Corley

1995 and 1997: "Dangerous" Dana Rucker

1998: Lamont "Bay" Pearson

2001: Lamont Peterson

2003: Anthony Peterson

2005: "Mr." Gary Russell, Jr.

2010: Gary Allen Russell, David "Day-Day" Grayton

2011: Mike "Yes, Indeed" Reed

2012: Gervonta "Rambo" Davis, D'Mitrius "Big Meech" Ballard, "The King's Son" Jerry Odom

2013: Gary Antonio Russell, Lamont Roach, Jr.

2014: Gary Antuanne Russell

To break this down a little bit, this list includes:

Two International Boxing Hall of Famers -- Sugar Ray Leonard and Mark "Too Sharp" Johnson

Four who have held world championships -- Leonard, Johnson, DeMarcus "Chop Chop" Corley and Lamont Peterson

Three United States Olympians -- Leonard, Louis "Heidi" Curtis and Gary Russell, Jr.

Three brother combinations -- Johnson and James Harris, Lamont and Anthony Peterson and the Russell Family

Two boxers named Outstanding Boxer ("Golden Boy") of the National Tournament -- Jerry Odom (2012) and Gary Antonio Russell (2013)

Ten members of this list (Corley, The Petersons, Russell, Jr., David Grayton, Michael Reed, Gervonta Davis, D'Mitrius Ballard, Jerry Odom and Lamont Roach, Jr.) are active pro boxers. As of this posting, the current combined won-loss record for these 10 boxers is:

169-25-2 with 108 knockouts.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Wow! That's pretty impressive! Thanks Digital!